Posted on

Edwin Parr Award Nominee - Brittni Turner

For Immediate Release:

March 9, 2018

This quote is from Miss Brittni Turner, Wolf Creek Public School’s 2018 nominee for the Edwin Parr Award for outstanding first year teachers. "I feel both excited and privileged to be Wolf Creek's nominee for the Edwin Parr Award this year. My first year has been an incredibly rewarding experience. Bentley School has provided the support and opportunities that have allowed me to share my passions for students, science, inclusivity, and sports. I am beyond grateful to both the division and my administrators in recognizing my efforts."

Mrs. Alda Lovell, Director of People Services commented, “Wolf Creek Public Schools is honored to recognize Miss Brittni Turner as our Wolf Creek Public Schools Edwin Parr nominee. Our nomination is supported by the outstanding skills, knowledge and attitudes that Miss Turner demonstrates in each of the classes she teaches. Miss Turner has been a welcome addition to our school division. Her enjoyment for her students and her teaching is clearly evident. Miss Turner is enthusiastic and creative in her approach to establishing an engaging learning community for the many students that she teaches.  She is an enthusiastic, extremely capable educator whose students are engaged in hands-on experiences, engaging instruction, projects that encourage students to deepen their understanding, and a learning community where students are comfortable taking risks and seeking assistance. Miss Turner also dedicates a tremendous amount of time towards building relationships with her students outside of class, through her coaching and student leadership activities. We are proud to have Miss Turner represent Wolf Creek Public Schools.”

Mr. Lane Moore, Principal of Bentley School, added, “Miss Turner is an exceptional teacher who has quickly gained the trust and respect of her students, parents, and staff.  Her classroom is an inviting and stimulating learning environment that creates lifelong learners.  Miss Turner’s dedication to building relationships is evident in the number of students that seek her out throughout the day and through the extra time she gives to her students. She has gone above and beyond helping out with extracurricular activities such as: Sr. High Girls Volleyball coach, Sr. High Girls Basketball Coach, Ski Club staff rep, and Youth Tech Nation leader.  We are so pleased to have Miss Turner in our school and see a bright future for her in the teaching profession.”

The Edwin Parr Award  is annually awarded to one first year teacher in each zone of the Alberta School Boards’ Association (ASBA), who has demonstrated excellence in teaching. Each school division nominates one candidate, and then a committee selects one of the candidates to receive the award for the zone. The Edwin Parr Award recipients are recognized at the ASBA Fall General Meeting.


For more information, please contact:

Alda Lovell

Director, People Services

Wolf Creek Public Schools

Phone: 783-5441 x1234


To view this document in Google format click here:

Next news post Previous news post
Back to all posts