Posted on

WCPS Board selects Board Chair, Vice Chair and Committee Appointments

Wolf Creek Public Schools’ (WCPS) Board of Trustees has announced the reappointment of Luci Henry as Board Chair for the upcoming school year.

The decision was made during the Board's organizational meeting held on Thursday, June 15, 2023. Luci Henry, who is currently serving her second term as trustee from Clive, will continue to serve as Board Chair for the third consecutive year.

"I am humbled by the trust and confidence my colleagues have placed in me. As we embark on the third year of our four-year education plan, we remain committed to delivering quality teaching, fostering collective responsibility, and supporting the diverse needs of all students. Additionally, our advocacy efforts will persist, with a strong focus on enhancing mental health support for students and addressing needed funding for the divisional capital priorities.”

Additionally, Lana Thompson, trustee from Ponoka, currently serving her first term as trustee, has been selected as the Vice Chair of Wolf Creek Public Schools. 

"I am truly honored to be considered for this leadership role by my fellow trustees,” said Thompson. “I am dedicated to working diligently on behalf of the Board and the entire division to ensure the success and well-being of all our students. I am excited for the upcoming school year and the opportunities it holds for our students and staff."

During the organizational meeting, the Board also made committee appointments, including ATA Negotiations, Audit, Grievance, Liaison, Student Review, Advocacy, Salary and Wage Review, Health in Action, and Board representation on ASBA Zone 4, PSBAA, TEBA, and the Rural Caucus of Alberta School Boards. Furthermore, the Board has established its regular monthly meeting dates as the third Thursday of each month.

The Board of Trustees of Wolf Creek Public Schools comprises six trustees: Board Chair Luci Henry (Ward A), Vice Chair Lana Thompson (Ward B), Trudy Bratland (Ward C), Brent Buchanan (Ward D), Kelly Lowry (Ward D), and Darryl Stendie (Ward E).

2023 Board Chair and Vice Chair

Next news post Previous news post
Back to all posts