Posted on

WCPS nominates ÉLJHS teacher Will Langille for Edwin Parr Award

Lacombe — Wolf Creek Public Schools is thrilled to announce the nomination of William Langille for the esteemed Edwin Parr Award for the 2023/2024 school year. 

Recognized for his remarkable passion and dedication to education, Langille embodies the spirit of excellence and commitment that the award celebrates. As a devoted educator at École Lacombe Junior High School (ÉLJHS), Langille's teaching assignment spans English Language Arts and Social Studies for Grade 9, alongside specialized electives in Creative Writing, Robotics, Leadership, and Study Skills. His educational journey, marked by a Bachelor of Education Middle Years with Distinction from Red Deer Polytechnic/University of Alberta, underscores his profound dedication to fostering educational growth and innovation.

“William's innovative teaching methods and his unwavering commitment to student success exemplify the qualities we seek in educators,” said Tim De Ruyck, WCPS Superintendent. “His ability to inspire a love of learning in his students is precisely what the Edwin Parr Award stands for."

Langville has also served as the GSA staff liaison and club leader, a curling and cross country coach and a board member for the Mary C. Moore Public Library,

"It was in a Lacombe Junior High desk that I decided to become a teacher. Being able to teach in those halls today is an immense honour. My year so far has focused on connecting with students — either in the classroom or on the cross country and curling teams,” said Langille. “The chance to see students learn and grow means every day is rewarding to no measure. As I build relationships with students, I am also grateful to build relationships with an incredible community of teachers who inspire and uplift me. I’m so lucky to return in this ‘full circle’ way.”

The Edwin Parr Award is annually given to one first-year teacher in each zone of ASBA, who has demonstrated excellence in teaching. Each school division nominates one candidate, and then a committee selects one of the candidates to receive the award for the zone. The Edwin Parr Award recipients are recognized at the ASBA Fall General Meeting.

Next news post Previous news post
Back to all posts