Posted on

WCPS nominates ÉSLCHS teacher for Edwin Parr Award

Lacombe  —   His enthusiasm, and ability to motivate students exemplifies the qualities of Wolf Creek Public Schools’ (WCPS) 2020 Edwin Parr Teacher Award nominee.

WCPS Board of Trustees nominated Steven Prediger, École Secondaire Lacombe Composite High School fabrication teacher as its nominee for the 2020 Edwin Parr Teacher Award, which is awarded to a first-year K to 12 teacher who has taught in an Alberta school jurisdiction, which is a member of the Alberta School Boards’ Association (ASBA).

“He takes every opportunity to model for his students and guide them in what it takes to be a welder in the real world,” said Val Yaremchuk, ÉSLCHS, principal. “In addition to teaching his students how to weld, he addresses everything from eye contact, to dress, language, respect, collaboration, and workmanship. He takes the business of creating future hard-working, contributing members of our great province very seriously.”

Reflecting on his first year of teaching, Prediger said he is simply doing what he is meant to do. 

"I have been able to develop strong relationships with my students, by offering them myself as a pillar of support, through which I set high expectations for their progress and in turn hold them accountable to their education,” said Prediger.  “Much of my success is further attributed back to the excellent group of administrators, staff, and a wide range of people behind the scenes that have helped me evolve into the teacher I am becoming."   

The Edwin Parr Award is annually given to one first-year teacher in each zone of ASBA, who has demonstrated excellence in teaching. Each school division nominates one candidate, and then a committee selects one of the candidates to receive the award for the zone. The Edwin Parr Award recipients are recognized at the ASBA Fall General Meeting.

Next news post Previous news post
Back to all posts